The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material — which includes paper, plastic, and metal — should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council came to conclusion that the based on current measures taken in the Town the landfill may last longer than predicted. This conclusion of the chairperson is based on several unwarranted assumption for the three below reasons.

First, the chairperson assumes that the consultants have not considered the statistics regarding the recycling being take place in the future. For Example, if the consultants have taken in to account current the statistics and historical data to predicts the increase in the level of recycling going to take place in the town, then the increasing number of recycling scenario which author stated will be flawed. Chairperson should provide all the parameter used by the consultants to make this assumption hold water.

Second, how could the increase in charges for pickup of other household garbage will increase the quantity of recycled material? For Example, if already majority of garbage produce is a recycling material and the remaining garbage could be such that it cannot be replaced with any other material, in that case even if the charges may increase to pick up the non-recyclable garbage then even though it will not result in increase of quantity of recycling waste products. The chairperson should have provided any information regarding the material currently be collected from household which has chance to be replaced by a recyclable material so that increase in other garbage collection charges could have forced the people to shift to the recyclable alternatives.

At last, the information collected based on survey could be just another social phenomenon and not actually convert into action. For Example, it is a human tendency to respond based universally supported case. If you take a survey and ask people, do you think we should not spoil of mother earth and will you eager to help to fight against this global warming. The majority of respondent will say that yes, they think human are spoiling the earth and they will do something to help decrease the damage, but most of us don’t do anything rather than answering positively in the survey. This could be same case here, people may have positively responded for good cause. The author must provide the way people could help increase the recycling of garbage then this point has been warranted.

In conclusion, the author prediction is based on many unwarranted assumptions. The author must provide further information to clarify the above stated points which would help strengthening the strong conclusion drawn by the author.