The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. Due to this demand and the overall increase in clothing prices, we can predict that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the memo written by the vice president of men's clothing manufacturer company, it is stated that, since they have got a new fabric supplier the production of one of their old product (alpaca coats) which was stopped five years ago should be resumed will result in gaining more profit than before. The prediction by vice president is based on certain assumption such as the demand for alpaca coats have not changed since so many years, and also the infrastructure and the equipment needed for alpaca coats is available now and in working conditions. The conclusion is also based on assumption that new fabric supplier will supplies have the same high quality wool fabric needed for the manufacturing the alpaca coats. However, before the recommendation can be properly evaluated three questions must be answered.

First of all, is the demand for the alpaca coats is still high? Is the predilecation of customers towards the alpaca coat is still the same as it was five years ago ? It has been a long time since the production of alpaca coats is shutdown. Fashion of particular type and design of clothing keeps changing pretty soon in clothing industries. For example, fashion for long bottom jeans was in full fledge a few years ago, but soon the demand for it is dropped and the fashion of pencil cut jeans rised in the market. Therefore, it will be hard to assume that the demand for alpaca coat is still high in market with out any stated proof of market survey done recently.

Furthermore, did the new fabric supplier provide the same high quality fabric as it was used five years ago? did the change in fabric may not affect the overall quality of product and its sale? If we still assume that, the demand for alpaca coats is still high, but if the same high quality wool is not being supplied by new fabric supplier then it will surely affect the customer satisfaction. If the quality of alpaca coats will not be upto the marks as it was before, and also since the price of coat will also be high as stated that overall clothing price has been increased, then it will affect the sale and overall profits by alpaca coats.

Finally, do the manufacturing plant has the infrastructure and equipments needed for making the alpaca coats or do they need further maintainance cost or need to buy new equipments? since the product manufacturing stopped five years ago, therefore the specific machineries used to manufacture this coats would be scrapped out or replaced by new machineries need for other products. If the machinery are still with them, they may be requiring a huge maintainance costs since they have been not used so long. Consider the above scenarios, it can be seen that the costs for such maintainance and purchase will be overhead before the profit comes in. If still such costs is affordable by the industry, then also it will surely hamper the profits by alpaca coats.

In Conclusion, the argument, as its stand now, is considered flawed based due to its reliance on several unwarrented assumptions. if the vice president could provide further assertion to the above stated question, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to resume the production of alpaca coats which will gain high profit for the company.