If rituals did not exist, we would have to invent them. We need ceremonies and rituals to help us define ourselves as socially and culturally.

It is said that ceremonies and rituals are needed for us socially and culturally. I agree with this statement to some extent.

On the one hand, I can explain why We need ceremonies and rituals to help us define ourselves as socially and culturally. Each ceremony or ritual has its own background. They create part of the culture of each society. For example, in my country Iran, Tasoa and Ashura is a religious ceremony, and it is a part of our customs and culture. It has its own history and most Muslims around the world know about that. In this festival, people are mourners of Imam Hossein. Most people give poor individuals food as a vow. Also, it attracts many tourists annually, and many people around the world come to my country to see the customs which are performed at this festival. Therefore, in this way, foreign people are familiarized with a part of our culture, they also can have this chance to know more about Iranian people and their other customs. So, I believe that ceremonies and rituals should be exited. Most of the bring people together and let them have some time with each other. Additionally, by celebrating them they can preserve their culture and identity.

On the other hand, most of these ceremonies are very expensive and a part of the government budget is spent on them. The existence of them may not be in favor of poor countries. Most people believe that people can know about the background of festivals or rituals through books and media. The budget of them instead can go for helping poor people. There are many ways for the spread of our culture all around the world, and necessarily we do not need to perform ceremonies and rituals. Books, social media, famous artists and movies can show our culture and rituals to all people around the world. However, holding these ceremonies and rituals with a pithy budget can also bring prestige and economic benefit to the country. When tourists are attracted to a country for watching them should spend money. So, in this way the money spent is compensated.

To summarize, in my view, rituals and ceremonies should exist because they are one way that through them, we can introduce themselves socially and culturally. But the budged used for them should be controlled.