Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that the existence of some actions which are morally and legally wrong and can cause people's outrage is useful because individuals' attention is focused more on problems. This is something that even a reformer or speaker cannot do. I agree with this statement to some extent.

Scandal is an activity that can make a large group of people angry, activities like embezzlement. The general objection to these activities is good because individuals avoid repeating them and can be aware of their societies and the existing problems. For example, in my country Iran, every day we are exposed to increasing living costs because of the embezzlement done in the companies. The trust of people is misused, and they lose their money easily. We can see the objection of people in front of companies on the news, and I believe that this is good because individuals understand that they should not trust to each company. Sometimes even a speaker cannot conceive people to not invest their money in such companies. Most of the time we can learn from the mistakes of others. When a problem takes the shape of a scandal, more people are involved and affected by it, and more individuals become aware of the problems due to the public outrage such as the general strike. Sometimes a reformer or speaker cannot have a dominant role because when the trust of people is misused, they cannot trust anybody, and they might think that these people also try to cheat them and distort the correct information.

However, we cannot ignore the role of a reformer or a speaker because most of the time a general objection is guided by them. They try to show people the correct and legal way of gaining their rights. These people always attempt to focus people's attention on problems, and I think the general objection towards illegal activities is evoked by a reformer of a speaker as a leader.

To summarize, in my view, for attracting people's attention to problems, scandals can be useful but the role of a reformer or speaker as a leader should not be ignored.