The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter, the editor tries to give a solution to the reduction of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. His / her suggestion is to curtail the “number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season”. His/ her suggestion is only based on the evidence on the neighboring island of Seaville. I believe that the author also has to have a clear consideration of other factors that can contribute to accidents. Additionally, he/she has to give reasonable reasons that the presented solution could be done with the expected results on the Island.

On the one hand, the author believes that just because the moped is the most popular form of transportation, all accidents are related to it. But there is no evidence that all individuals in the Island only use moped. Do all people have enough ability to use moped? do all people like to use it? Is the only form of transportation in this Island is moped?

In addition to this, how he/ she is sure that other factors do not interfere with accidents? Different factors can contribute to accidents, such as winding roads, lack of safety on the roads, the weather conditions and lack of proficiency in controlling mopeds or other transports. Each factor mentioned can cause accidents individually. The author has to consider that if the roads in the Island have problems, the reduction of moped will not reduce the number of accidents. If people use other forms of transportation, such as cars or motorcycles, and they do not have enough proficiency, the limited use of moped does not help the reduction of the number of accidents. Also, the weather condition is the factor that cannot be controlled, and it is the most important factor in accidents.

Finally, the author has said that “By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals. “There are some questions with no answers. Do the two islands have the same geographical conditions? Are there accurate statistical figures about this subject? How the author can prove that by running this limitation on the Island, a similar outcome will happen? Answering these questions to perform the limitation of mopeds is important.

To summarize, in my view, the suggestion of the author for the reduction of accidents is not cogent and more factors and conditions should be considered for solving this problem.