People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

It is said the most popular ideas are also criticized by their advocates who are deeply committed to them. I agree with the statement to some extent.

On the one hand, when people are the most deeply committed to and idea or policy, they try to do more research about that and gather more information. Therefore, they find more points or weaknesses about the idea or policy and attempt to criticize them in order to amend them. In other words, the most popular ideas or policies are criticized by their advocates for more improvement. To be committed to an idea or policy helps the better and strong development of that idea or policy. some leaders such as Imam Khomeini in Iran who was the leader of people in the revolution of Iran tried to improve many rules. He was a big fan of Islamic rules but he attempted to update and correct them based on the needs of people and new conditions in the country. Conditions always change, and everything should be amended and improved.

On the other hand, many ideas or policies are criticized by their opponents. For example, researches about space or rockets. We can see that most opponents believe that spending money on such scientific researches is waste of money and instead the budget should be spent on the renovation of public places which are more useful and applicable for people. If the scientists or advocates of these research projects wanted to give up on such objections, there would not be any spacecraft or satellite built. Most of the time ideas or policies are reviewed by the opponents in order to reject them. By contrast, advocates try to find weaknesses or develop them for more progress.

To summarize, in my view policies and ideas are equally criticized by both advocates and opponents but the main aim of each group to check them is different.