In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is said that there is nothing new under the sun. Thus, everything that can be discovered has already being discovered. The above position is extreme and would not be valid all the time. This is because both beginners or experts can make important contributions to their chosen fields by new innovations, propounding new conventions, or modifying accepted norms and patterns.

The underlying premise of the above is that a beginner would be more eager to make an impact than an expert. It assumes that the newness of subject to the beginner would encourage him to contribute more compared to the established expert who may become complacent. The argument is correct because holding other factors constant, a beginner who is yet to inculcate the accepted practices of a particular field may yield new discoveries thus improving the field compared to the expert who has seen it all and may want to maintain the existing state of affairs. However, experience also counts and for this reason an expert who is knowledgeable in that field may contribute more to its development.

It is possible that a beginner may contribute more than an expert becasue he would view the matter in new light and make obvious observations that experts may miss thus leading to new discoveries. On the otherhand, the expert with his experienced eye and knowledge is able to ascertain what works and what does not work. He should also able to identify quickly new ideas. Thus, either a beginner or expert might make important contributions it depends on each individual and the goals they hope to achieve in their chosen fields.

Examples of beginners who have offered new ideas that impact a field of study abound. For instance, Leornado Da Vinci made more contributions to the field of paintings than his master and other established painters of his time. In the field of medicine, a doctor was able to identify the causes of cholera in a district. Also, experts such as Ann Curie after years of study made important contributions to the field of medicine.

Both beginners and experts contribute immensely to their chosen fields. Usually, the beginner is able to build on or modify existing contributions. For example Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle made important contributions to government and philosophy. Aristotle was able to build on the works Socrates and Plato.

In conclusion, either experts or beginners can make important contributions to their fields. Success is dependent on the individual.