In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

It is said that a novice more than a skilled person makes important contributions in different fields. I agree with this statement to some extent.

On the one hand, it is understandable why it is believed that the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions. Firstly, when the beginners are employed in a new workplace, they tend to prove themselves to their colleagues and boss. They are eager to make an important impact. Therefore, they try to work hard and contribute to different fields. They attempt to show that they are active and can cope with the challenges in the work. Secondly, most of the time, new staff are employed because the manager of a company tends to have new workforces with updated knowledge and innovation to keep up with the rivals in the competitive market. The beginners have a fresh mind, and they are less likely to avoid challenging ideas or constructive attempts. Also, the beginners are expected to make contributions based on their relevant knowledge and abilities. Additionally, most of the time, the novices have more contributions because of the newness of the subject to them. This makes them more passionate to contribute more compared to others.

On the other hand, I believe that a beginner cannot have more contributions to making important decisions because they are not as skillful as those who have years of work experience. The contribution of experts in making decisions has more advantages than beginners. The person who works on a specific job for years is undoubtedly more reliable than a beginner who is taking the work recently. Experts with their experience and empirical knowledge can determine what works and what does not work. This is the difference between an expert and a beginner. For example, in the hospital in emergencies, the experienced doctor can make a quick and important decision based on his or her experiences but the fledgling interns only can apply the instructions and standard treatments that they have learned from the books. Therefore, in this case, the beginners can not make an important contribution, and they only have a facilitator role.

To summarize, in my view both experts and beginners try to contribute significantly to their chosen fields, and each one has his/ her contribution to the success of an inquiry. The role of none of them should be ignored. Experts with their experience and empirical knowledge, and the beginners with their new and updated knowledge can make a good group for the success of their common work. In addition to this, the contribution of either a beginner or an expert depends on the goals that they hope to achieve in their chosen fields.