Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

It is said that having any living man or woman as a hero for society is impossible because when they are subjected to media scrutiny, their fame will be reduced. I agree with this argument to some extent.

A hero is someone who does something exceptional that ordinary people can not do. Each society can have different heroes in different fields such as science, sport, movie, and politics. But the most important problem for any famous person or hero is the media. In media, individuals try to aim heroes and leak their lives for individuals for different reasons. For example, how they could be successful? What is the secret of their success? In this way, the life of famous people is controlled and most of the time they even can have normal social life as they always should scape from the journalists or people who work in media. We have to consider that all people are not complex and each person can have some positive aspects or negative ones. When you are not a hero for others it is not important to know that about your life but when you become famous and you overshadow the lives of some people. Your life becomes important and all aspect of your life is subjected to media scrutiny. So, when people become aware of the negative aspects of your life, they start to judge you, and you are compared with other heroes with the positive aspects of their lives. Therefore, you lose their fame after a while and then people do consider you as a hero.

However, media always is not bad and most of the time create and introduce a new hero to people. For example, Maryam Aghakhani in Iran was a famous mathematician and I did not know her until she was introduced by media to people. when I familiarized myself with her life, I became more passionate about math and always she was my hero for being successful in my life. She always remained a hero for many people because she only tried to limit media to the scientific aspect of her life. I believe that famous people always can be as a hero if they have enough control over the media and their lives and respect the moral points. For example, Pari Hilton is not considered as a hero because she always wants to prove that children and young people can be successful without going to school. She always shows her glamorous lifestyle. Parents do not like her as a hero because of the things that they know about her life through the media.