Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security?

It is said that governments can circumvent civil laws in certain and emergencies. I agree with this statement to some extent.

On the one hand, I can understand people who believe that civil laws should be respected by all individuals, even government servants. Laws are passed for the order of the city and people’s safety and no one has this right to ignore them. If governments want to circumvent civil laws, the trust of people will be misused, and they will discourage to follow rules. For example, most people disagree with the existence of video surveillance in public places because they believe this is an invasion of privacy, and they always feel that they are being watched by officials. In this situation government without the permission of people should not ignore the civil law, and it should use a video camera when people are satisfied wholeheartedly.

On the other hand, in some emergencies, governments can circumvent civil laws. I believe that some state servants such as people who work in hospitals or fire stations and police stations can have this right to ignore laws because of the welfare of individuals. For example, driving regulation is one of the civil laws that should be respected, and offenders are punished when they commit a crime. Traffic light in big cities is very important, and people are forced to pay attention to it. In some emergency, for instance, when someone has a health problem, and they need an ambulance, the driver of the ambulance is allowed to pass the red light. This is just to rescue people’s lives. Or to provide people’s safety, police officers have this right to carry a gun. In this way, they can deter offenders to commit crimes and help people to feel safe. I believe, these situations are exceptional and there no problem that government staff to circumvent civil laws.

To summarize, in my view, civil laws should be respected by all individuals, and governments should be allowed to circumvent the laws just in emergencies.