Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument mentioned above is about deer population reduction. The author in order to confirm his/ her argument brings some following reasons, including limitation of deer population’s natural habitat to warm and cold areas by migration, and the report from local hunter has pointed to a decreasing of the deer population. Changing in the global warming trends, and finally lack of ability for the deer population to follow their age-old migration patterns.

According to the first reason, the author relies on reports from the local hunter, but this report is questionable. The natural habitat of deer is limited to warm and cold areas and they have to migrate in a year. So, the question is whether or not the hunters have counted the number of deer population correctly. It is possible that they could not see the exact number of them because they were in other places. Did the hunters use the acceptable statistical way for counting of deer population? If they used, how they counted the number of them, there is no evidence about the way of the census.

Based on the second reason, the author talks about global warming trends. There are some questions about this argument. Has the author checked the trends of global warming in this area correctly? Is he/ her sure that the weather in this area has gone up? If the weather in Canada's arctic regions has gone up, the author's argument is acceptable otherwise we can understand there are no relationships between the global warming and deer population decrease.

The last reason, the author cites that the decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea. For this argument, the author has not considered other important factors for migration. For example, the deer migrate because they cannot find enough food in their natural habitat. The plants that they used to eat are extinct, and their natural habitats have destroyed by human activities or other reasons.

In conclusion, if the author wants to strengthen his/her argument should consider all the weaknesses mentioned above and tries to improve all of them.