Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

It is said that cities must be supported financially by the governments in order to thrive, and the first aim of such economic support is to preserve and generate the nation’s cultural traditions.

Economic progression is the most important issue in each country. It is used to measure the success of a country. If a country has a stable economic situation, it will be able to provide all needs. Economic growth is a fundamental goal for countries. A healthy economy results in job creation, a high level of employment and providing necessary public services. In addition to this, a country with a good economic situation will be able to preserve or generate its cultural traditions as holding such traditions needs enough budget. Governments have this responsibility to divide equally the nation's budget into different cities because each city has its own needs and cultural traditions. For example, my country Iran has more than one hundred cities and each city has its rural areas and each one has its own needs. The city that I live in is Isfahan. This city is known for its historical places and traditions. It needs annual financial support for preserving its traditions and historical buildings. This budget should be provided by officials in government centers. This city is a popular tourist destination in my country and in order to thrive, it needs to be supported financially each year based on the specific budget. Otherwise, the council of the city will not be able to repair the historical buildings or preserve and hold the cultural traditions in this city.

Eventually, a part of each country’s economic growth is to preserve its cultural traditions. Half the budget of each country is devoted to this subject because, in this way, the country will be able to introduce itself to other countries. A part of the economic growth and identity of each country is introduced by its traditions. Therefore, one of the primaries of each nation should be the preservation and generation of its cultural traditions. This aim should be done alongside other main aims.