Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is about Nature's Way that is opening its new franchise in the town of Plainsville related to the health food and other health-related products. At first, this argument might look well justified, however, with an accurate check of the argument, we can see that it has some flaws.

Firstly, the author has said that Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. He does not provide any evidence or reliable figures that people in this area have healthy lives. How does he know people in this area have a healthy lifestyle? Based on what factors, the author has considered this area suitable for the next franchise. There is no evidence about this subject. There are only some reports from the merchants about the sales of running shoes and exercise clothing. But again, they have not provided accurate statistics about this subject. Relying on some reports without any figures and reliable statistics is not acceptable. Additionally, how they prove that people with the aim of the exercise, have bought running shoes or exercise clothing? How they prove that the local people have bought these products? There is no answer to these questions.

Secondly, the author has said that the local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. The author does not provide us with any statistics to support the claim. Without figures or statistics, it is not reasonable to jump to the conclusion. How do they know that this claim is true? Do all the people in these classes live in this city? It is possible tourists or travelers have participated in these classes for a short time. Do they have any statistics about the number of exercise classes in this city? There may be some limited classes available for local people, so with a little number of people, they can be full all the time. Therefore, how they prove that these classes are popular among people in Plainsville? For reinforcement of their claim, they should have enough research such as interviews or field research in the city.

Finally, the author also has said that Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age. This argument is not predictable. All people are required to pass the exercise class in their school, but it does not mean that they are interested in exercise and continue it even after school. They may use other methods for being fit in their adulthood, for example, having a diet or being vegetarian.

In conclusion, the author to strengthen his argument should improve the weaknesses of his claim and answer all the questions mentioned above.