Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is said that leaders will accomplish little if they are influenced by shifts in popular opinions. I agree with the argument to some extent.

The leaders, whether in the field of politics, socialist reforms, freedom movements, art, business firm or other institutions, have always shaped the course of history. In advocating social reforms, for example, Kofi Anan raised his voice against the discrimination against the blacks in South Africa. That time, the popular belief among white people was the slavery of black people. He did not give in to the popular opinion but, instead, went against it. Looking back into the past, we can see that most of the leaders have challenged the accepted popular opinion and achieved huge reverence and renown for eradicating those practices. For instance, in the world of Islam, The Prophet Muhammad tried to fight with the popular opinion of female infanticide. When stupid people buried their daughters alive, he fought against this belief. Or in India, during the freedom movements when everyone resorted to violence for attaining freedom from the oppressive British rule, Mahatma Gandhi used the method of Non-Violence and Truth. This not only helped India attain Independence but also resulted in a government and constitution with truth and Non-violence as foundations. The leaders, in these cases, have achieved success by fighting against popular opinions.

However, in the world of business and manufacturing, changes should be done by going along with popular opinion. Leaders should have market research and try to find the popular opinion of people in the world of technology and attempt to convert them into reality to gain the market share.

In manufacturing, they should meet the needs of customers and follow popular opinion. Leaders in the world of business need to follow popular opinion to escape from the recession and economic collapse. For example, we can see that some giant companies like Apple and Microsoft always change their strategy based on the needs of people and what is popular among them. This is what makes them successful among their rivals. For gaining the market share, some changes according to the needs and popular opinion are necessary because failing to recognize these changes might lead to resentment in public.

In conclusion, leaders should not always give in popular opinions. They should always analyze the cause and sources of such opinions to ensure efficacy and follow the best ones.