Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A leader is not just a person who leads the society by an example but also is capable of looking at the bigger picture while leading. This task is often hard and requires having a strong logical thinking brain. As most of the time popular opinion is driven by emotion, making decision based on popular opinion can affect negatively for the society.

Firstly, as social media is a big information sharing source in nowadays world. Most of the information cited on these platform have no fact checkings. People can easily be emotionally manipulated by videos on these platforms to induce reactions which can result in people demanding immediate action agianst the problem. For example, after the mumbai terror attacks in september 2011, a video surfaced where a terrorist named kasab was shown killing innocent people in taj hotel. As kasab was caught and jailed during the attacks by the police, people after watching the video expected government to publically execute him immediately. Even though the idea provides justice to the innocent lives lost, government leaders kept their cool and made sure to interrgoate the terrorist and get as much intel as possible to avoid future attacks in the country before executing him. This decision by government insured that the people remain safe in the future.

Also, leaders need to find a balance between listening to popular opinion and ground reality before making any legislation decisions. For example, Most of the people in kashmir didn’t want article 370 that declared them as independent states to be removed. But the current indian government after due deliberation removed the article because there were certain big parts of kashmir like Ladakh, which were not much populated and wanted to be associated with india as a whole.

Although, leaders are humans too and can sometimes make mistakes of not listening the popular opinion. This could result in people voting them out. But most of the time that is the case of ignorance and not able to see the bigger picture by the leader.

In conclusion, leaders should not be easily influenced by shifts of popular opinion as it might impede their ability to help the people in a long term situation.