Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above paragraph concludes that the decline in arctic deer propulations in Canada’s arctic regions is because they are unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea. This conclusion is based on the evidence that there are reports from local hunters that the deer population is declining and this report coincides with recent global warming trends that may have caused the sea ice to melt. Before the conclusion can hold water, there are certain evidence required.

Firstly, no data is provided in the paragraph regarding the reports from the local hunters.Providing data over the past 5-10 years of the arctic deer’s population in Canada’s arctic regions can help forming the above conclusion with much more accuracy and consistency. For Example, if the population of the deer over the course of 5-10 years is constantly declining then it will strengthen the argument made in the paragraph, but if the decline mentioned in the hunters report is just for one year then the data is not enough to strengthen the argument.

Secondly,it is assumed that since the reports of declining deer population coincide with latest global warming trends then that is the only factor. Even if the data is provided and shows that the deer population has been declining in the Canada’s arctic regions, there can be others factors relating to the deer populations decline and providing specific data that excludes any other factors involing the population decline need to be mentioned before making the argument. For Example, if there was an increase in the arctic deer hunting in the region then that could lead to decline in deers populations. Since coincidence cannot be regarded as accurate representation of a cause and effect situation. Further evidence dismissing any other cause that could have lead to arctic deer’s population decline should be mentioned.

Lastly, if the global warming is the main issue then deer’s do not need to follow old migration patterns to get food. Maybe they have followed new migration patterns leading to hunters not able to find any deer’s to hunt in the regions they are used to hunting. Hence, providing the current deers migration pattern may help strengthen or weaken the argument.

The argument as it stands lacks specific evidence to hold water. If the paragraph provides more specific data spread for deers population over the last 5-10 years backing the hunters reports and eliminating any other possibilty that could lead to deer population decline besides global warming then the argument made in the paragraph can be made.