The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large.
Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.
Corporations in order to maximize their profits do cut off certain aspects of their cost of production,
which certainly can create a conflict with the general welfare of the nation.Corporations can cut their
costs to maximize their profits in the following ways -
Firstly,Nowadays Corporations are trying to automate their productions and manufacturing as much
as they can which leads to laying off employees and replacing them with machines instead which
can create huge amount unemployment issues in the nation.
Secondly,In order to maximize profits certain manufacturing corporations do not take care of the
proper means to dump the residual waste produced by them.They dump it into the rivers which can
pollute the river for both humans and marine life leading to health problems.
Lastly,Most common way of decreasing the cost of the product to maximize the profit is to degrade
the quality of the ingredients in a product or sometimes even adulterate the product .For Example -
Milk companies dilute their milk with water in order to increase their margin in sales to bring in
greater revenue. This can lead to malnutrition in poverty ridden villages and middle class people
who can afford milk only in required amount and diluting it will decrease the essential ingredients
needed for a human body on a diurnal basis.
Hence,Maximizing profits comes at a cost of diminution of parts of the company which can effect
people in a nation at a very large scale.