Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

We all are busy in our daily lives , oblivious to some of the evil and scandalous events, that happen in secrecy. Speakers in news media outlets just talk about topics that bring their news channel more clout and views ignoring certain important problems that need immediate attention. I strongly agree that scandals can help focus the attention of media and general public towards some of real problems that happen in people’s backyards.

In countries, if the people in power are left unchecked and unquestioned by the media then ministers can use this oppurtunity to personal gain and hence increasing corruption in the country.

For Instance, In India 2G scam that happened in 2001, which is 2nd highest corruption case in the world was discovered after 10 years of its occurrence. During this 10 years, billions of dollars were funnelled away into ruling parties ministers pockets and no investigation was done by media or the investigating forces. The money descrepancy was brought up by the opposition party after 10 years during the next election campaign and that did led to the tumbling of the ruling party which was in power for 15 years. After that people have become more aware of the government corruption and media have started giving importance to this issue as well. Since then no major corruption scandal has been proved in india. The above example is a strong evidence that sometimes occurrence of a scandal can help a nation evolve from its problems.

Also, In this capitalist and corporate environment where reputation is the key for being at the top. Sometimes these top tech companies assure their customers that their storage application have peak security, due to which people do upload some of their personal photos on these services but in reality glithces and bugs are exploited leading to sexual photos and videos getting leaked into the internet. For Instance, Leaking of celebrity nude photos from Apple Cloud was a major scandal that led to people not trusting Apple’s Icloud services. After facing public backlash Apple upgraded its security service for the application to use two factor authentication. The above example clearly brings into limelight the importance of scandals that can warn people on their privacy.

OfCourse, some will argue that encouraging media outlets to speak about the problems that don’t have enough evidence can help avoid the problem from occuring, but media cannot risk running news based on rumours and maybe’s, because that could effect their legitamacy and ratings as a news outlet. Sometimes action is better than words.