Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

In order to progress forward in any kind of work, critical judgement is required. Sometimes the critical judgement can be false and sometimes it can true. So how can one differentiate that the judgement done for a particular work is of value or not. The most safe way is to rely on the judgement for the work on a person who is an expert in that field.

Firstly, an expert in that field would have better understanding of the facts realted to that field and would be able to evaluate the work using those facts with precision and honesty.

Hypothetically speaking, If a physics student has worked on a project related to quantum mechanics then a physics professor would be able to provide the student with a much accurate and critical feedback on his work rather than a , lets say, english professor. The above example clearly shows how important it is that in order for a work to hold water, it should be critically judged by an expert.

Secondly, many doubts are removed in the eyes of public if an expert evaluates a particular work. Nowadays where different fields of work are dependent on each other. For example, In an IT company, a client who wants a website to be developed by an IT team would require the devloper judgement on whether the concept that he wants to be developed is feasible or not. Also, he would require test engineers judgement on whether the finished website is free of bugs or not. This individual critical feedback on the work is required for any work to proceed to its completion.

Lastly, there can be cases where an expert opinions can cast doubt on the result of the work. For example, the mueller report on whether Donald Trump colluded with the russians for winning his candidacy during 2016 elections left the democratic party and republicans divided on the issue.

In conclusion, most of the time ant given work only holds water when it is reviewd and critically judged by an expert in the field.