According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is stated in the mentioned recommendation that other colleges and universities should adopt honor code to tackle cheating among students. This recommendation is based on the evidence that Groven college cheating cases dropped in the following year when honor code system was enforced and further more after five years, and also a recent survey showed groven students preferred honor code to tackle cheating during exams. Before the above recommendation is evaluated two questions need to be addressed.

Firstly, how truthful groven students are when following honor code? For instance, making sure that there was no collusion among students during exams and how truthful the groven students are towards other people can help determine the integrity of the honor code followed by the Groveton college. If the answer to above question is addressed then the recommendation to follow honor code in other colleges would be strengthened.

Secondly, even if Groven students turn out to be honest students. Question remains, Are other university students are similar in honesty or not? For example, there can be schools where percentage of kids having criminal parents and criminal neighbourhoods are high. In those school it might be foolish to implement honor code system instead of teacher monitoring system.

Lastly, are other university students comfortable with honor code system or not? Even though Groven university students prefer honor code system, other university students might not like the system. For instance, a different university student might prefer concentrating more on solving the problems given in the exam rather than keeping an eye out to who is cheating or not. So conducting a proper survey for each university students preference can help bolster the recommendation.

The recommendation, as it stands now, is flawed, more evidence specific to the university is required and more in depth report of the integrity of the honor code followed by the groven university students is required to help strengthen the recommendation.