The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

While it is true that environment problems are caused by consumer-generated waste, but imposing strict limits on the accepted amount of trash disposed by each household is not the best way forward.

Firstly, amount of trash generated by each household is directly proportional to the number of residents living in it and hence a simple limitation on each household is not feasible and might lead to some other environmental issues like cleanliness and hygiene, because large families would not be able to fulfill those limits and might have to dump their garbage in some empty areas.

Secondly, even if the limitations are made keeping the amount of residents for each households in mind then those limitations would be rather complex and require a seperate government entity to monitor and regulate for each and every city in the country. This will cost a lot of government money, which is paid in taxes by the people. Instead this money should be invested in educating and spreading awareness among the people to use recycling, reusable bags to buy products from market.

Thirdly, one of the besy way forward to tackle environmental problems caused by garbage should be to restrict retailers and manufacturers of the industries to sell their products in plastic bags and replace them with eco friendly packaging. This will automatically result in more eco friendly and reusable garbage generation which is good for environment.

In conclusion, imposing strict limits on the amount of trash generated by each household will not solve the environmental problems but might create bigger hygienic problems and maybe turning away from plastic bags to eco friendly bags is the best way forward.