Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The above conclusion states that people who use stairs have better health and live longer. The conclusion was made based on three explanations mentioned in the above paragraph. These evidences hold some major fallacies and alternative explanations can be made.

The first study mentioned that people living in stair only apartment live an average of three years longer than people who live in buildings with both elevator and stairs. Not enough about the study is mentioned in the explanation. For example, it could be possible that the study took into account, the eating habits of the apartment residents. Also it could be possible that the study also looked at the average exercise time of residents. So without mentioning the specific details of the study one cannot come to conclusion that the study only took into account the amount of stairs and elevators used time of each residents in those apartments.

The second study assumes that the quality of doctors that both the apartment elderly residents visited are same. It could be possible that the elderly residents that visited the doctors more frequently had a novice doctor and required the patient to visit multiple times to come to a firm diagnosis.

Finally, the result of the questionnares that several doctors offices reported could be inaccurate because the not enough information about the background of the patients are mentioned. Patients who themselves have a medical background might answer the questionnaire accurately whereas a industry worker might not know how to correctly rate his fitness, sleep etc accurately.

Hence, the explanations provided to conclude that people who use stairs have better health and live longer has some fallacies.