The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream — a dairy product made from milk — at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The above letter states that, in the town of Relannian a carton of cream costs twice as much as it did two years ago despite increased in efficiency and lower labor costs. Hence the explanation provided for this increase in price is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits. But there can three other explanations that can cause the increase in price of cream over the last two years.

Firstly, it is mentioned in the letter that the dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. This might have happened due to increased demand of dairy products over the last decade which means that the population must have increased a lot in the area. If the demand is still higher than supply, this could lead to higher prices in milk products including carton of creams.

Also recently, Relanna has received a major technological boom in the milking technology which has resulted in increase in efficiency of the milking process by reducing the time required to collect milk with minimal human intervention. Another explanation that can be concluded from this fact is that this milking technology involves using more of machines than humans to produce milk. As this technology is recent, the machine prices might have not yet stabilised due to high demand for them by dairy farmers. This might lead to increase in cost price of milk production and hence leading to increase in price for carton of cream.

Finally, The labor costs might have decreased during the last decade but as times progress newer technology emerges and hence miscellaneous expenses can increase too. For example, the packaging used ten years ago for cream carton made it expire earlier, and hence, was cheaper than the packaging avalaible today.

Hence, there can multiple other explanation for increase in price for carton of milk in the Relanna town, like increase in demand,high machine and packaging prices.