The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

real learning for students can be categorised into two parts, theory, and practical implementation of theory learned. Todays innovations such as video, computers and internet has made learning both of these catergories easy. hence, I strongly disagree that modern electronic gadgets and utilities distract students from real learning based on two situations where it is very useful for students.

Firstly, as many of the students work part time while studying in universities and colleges resulting in missing some of the lectures in the process. having video lectures of the classes on the universities website can help students manage their time more efficiently between work and theoritical study. students that are having a hard time learning a particular course will also benefit from it. As human brain naturally adapts to repetition of a process. having the luxury of watching the lectures repeatedly definitely increases the depth of leraning of a student.

Secondly, practically applying the theory courses is much harder and takes a lot of time to gather information, hence, having a plethora of information available on internet saves students time while working on a project or a research paper. This helps students to complete more projects which ofcourse increases their learning.

Finally, as many of the good teaching schools and colleges are very expensive, many of the students from poor background all around the world are unable to receive lectures from astute teachers. computers and internet helps bridge that gap of distance and money by providing much cheaper courses online worldwide.

Therefore, i believe the latest innovations like internet, computers and video do not hamper but bolster the learning by saving the students time, providing comfort and also making it cheaper to provide education.