To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A leader is a representative of a society and is meant to lead by an example. Hence, the leader must maintain highest ethical and moral standards if he or she wants to get things done in a right and productive manner. There are three instances where having highest ethical and moral standards can helps a person to become an effective leader.

Firstly, an effective leader has the ability to unify majority of the people in the society. For example, Current Indian prime minister Narendra Modi won the national election in 2019 with 65 percent of the lok sabha seats, this win was achieved by a significant majority over the opposition party leader Rahul Gandhi. The reason why Modi won was because he was able to unify people by talking about the pending important issues that were halting india’s growth. As many of the other politicians also talked about the same issue in their own rallies, Narendra modi’s demeanor of a simple moralistic good person helped him convince majority of the people that he was the right person to solve those impeding problems. The above example shows how important it is to have good moral standards to be an effective leader and differentiate yourself from other leaders.

Secondly, a leader who has highest ethical standards will pass legislation that will help reduce corruption in society leading to better safety for people. For example, Uttar Pradesh which is one of the largest states of india had elected Yogendra Nath as their cabinet minister because he had given up on marriage and self leisures and made his life purpose to serve the people of the state with his full attention and upmost morality. He suggested to the public that he will open a direct app that will help people report crimes of corruption by providing video or audio evidences. Since he came to power, there are hardly any gangster violence reported in the newspapers and many corrupted police officers have been caught using the app.

In conclusion, leaders with highest ethical standards become effective leaders because they have the confidence that the majority of the public will trust them as they do not have any mischievious doings to worry about.