Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many students rely on universities and colleges to provide ample oppurtunities to them in wide variety of activities for them grow. One way of supporting students is by providing them financial support in the activity they want to pursue be it sports and social activities or classes and libraries. While some people think that indoor activities should receive greater financial support than outdoor activities, others beleive that equal financial support should be given for both indoor and outdoor type activities. I agree that equal financial support should be given to both sports and social activities, as well as classes and libraries.

First, providing equal financial support in sports activities would encourage students to stay fit which will increase their health.

For example, an international student from a poor country cannot afford the cost of participating in sport activities due to financial reasons. Providing financial aid would encourage such students to participate in sports and lead a healthy life without worrying about the cost required to engage in such activities. This will ultimately lead to a healthier overall university campus.

Second, providing equal financial support in social activities will help start new social programs that can organise and provide lectures from astute national personalities regarding different pertaining problems in the world. This will help students to engage in productive debates regarding day to day problems.

For example, an environmental social club, upon receiving equal financial aid from university could afford to invite scientists working in antartica or north pole. These scientists could provide live updates regarding the effect of usage of fossil fuels on climate change.

Thirdly, students would be encouraged to apply the theortical part learned in classes in libraries into the practical world by engaging in social activities. This experience will be important for them in future when they are applying for jobs.

For example, if a team of students of mechanical engineering decide to apply their knowledge into making a model of formula one car to compete in a national robotics competition. This can only be possible if the university provides funding for them. Having this experience will also help them land a good job in the future when they get a degree from a university.

To sum up, i agree that equal financial support should be given to sports and social activities as well as, classes and libraries.