Only once one has known real sadness can one feel true happiness.

Ability of understanding greatness of a work of art can be interpreted differently.It can be interpreted as understanding the story behind the art by the masses or having deep understanding of the skills required to complete the art or even why the art was created in the first place.

If more people are able to relate to the story behind an work of art then it is self-evident to be more popular and great.For example - Most popular songs like "Someone Like You" from Adele has millions of views because the song summarizes to relationship ending which most people can relate it with their own life and tend to listen to it more when they feel sad.

On the other side , there are cases when people dont fully understand the skill involved in building an art but still it has a significant meaning among the masses.For example- Most people dont know the mechanical engineering involved in creation of a bugatti veron which is the most expensive as well as fastest car, but is still considered a great piece of art in car department.

It really boils down to what people are trying to understand in an art . If it is its story then more the people understand the more great it is.Otherwise some art form are still popular regardless lack of understanding of by the masses the skills required to to make it.