"Only once one has known real sadness can one feel true happiness."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Every single person in this world goes through many problems and sufferings during his or her lifetime. It is at this point of time, people experience extreme sadness. The prompt states that, true happiness is a feeling which can be unlocked only with the key, called sadness. It means that we can only feel true happiness once we live through the acme of hardship. In my opinion, i strongly agree with the prompt and support my place by stating two reasons.

Human life is ever-changing, and that is a good thing. If a person a is affluent, has everything he needs in life and has nothing to worry about, then life might come to stasis for him or her. When life is going through many undulations, we come to experience both sadness and happiness. The true worth of our life is only understandable when we experience extreme sadness. For instance, if a person was rich and affluent, but due to loss in business, he lost all his possessions. During poverty he shall realize how well he lived his life before he came to the streets. After recovering from his poverty, the person shall be grateful for his life and that's when he would experience true happiness. Happiness is relative, only during sadness shall we experience its true form.

We all would have heard of this famous quote, "No pain, No gain". It is in fact true. In order to achieve success and ultimately experience happiness in life, we must go through a lot of pain. Being in a competitive world, we have to work extremely had to receive the pleasures of life. For instance, Dr. A.P.J Abdul kalam is a well-known character for everyone. He came from a poor background. He had to work hard to pay for his college fees, do part-time jobs and study at the same time. But this stint of suffering lasted only from some time in his life. Due to his hard work, he gained a good job opportunity and he eventually became the president, while experience many successes. People find happiness when they make success in life. But to do that, it is necessary that we pay the price for it.

One might put forth the fact that, people like saints have attainted happiness by leading a simple life and that reduces the hardship they face in life. But one has to look into the fact that they have sacrificed the pleasures that a normal human being would experience and attained this sainthood, which itself is sadness and hardship in disguise.