Issue - "A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Society is a place where we human being live under certain rules and regulation for easy and happy life. But if some one is breaking that rules knowingly and commits a crime, that person must be undergone some punishment for his crime. In support of prompt i am agree with author till some extent. Authors claim can be agreed in some cases but it can be way strict in some cases. In below paragraph same can be understand with some example.

Firstly, we have to understand that person who committed a crime in what condition and what are the things that made him or her to commit a crime. Consider a example, if a person has stolen a money from some grocery store then before giving hin/her a punishment we need to identify the reasons and circumstances under which person commits a crime. if person who stole money is very poor and jobless and need those stolen money for school fees of his/her child, and person tried to collect money without committing crime but fails to get money then we have to give him chance to overcome his/her mistake. But a crime is 'crime' , so person must given some punishment. But, along with punishment he must be given some opportunity to overcome his/her mistake. In this case, person make to work for a store from which he/she stolen for certain period of time for free or for very low wages as a punishment. This kind of action keep a society a better place to live.

But on other hand , if person stolen a money from store just for wrong doing like gambling, for drugs, for drinks then this kind of person must be given a strong punishment. IF person a commit a crime for doing a another crime then it will be mostly possible that person is not committing such crime first time and it is also likely that person will be commit a crime again is future. For such kind of criminal, they must gone harsh punishment to understand their wrongdoing. this person should not retain their civil right

While, sometimes some people are made to broke a social contract by treating. In such case a person who is actual a face of crime is not fully responsible for crime, but a person who make him/her to commit a crime a main cause of crime and broken social contract. such person for their own benefits they force other to break rules. So, this kind of criminal who made other to crime for their own benefit also need strict punishment and should not retain civil rights.

In conclusion, it is very difficult to decide a punishment for a certain crime. first we deeply have to understand that condition in which crime is committed and who all are responsible for that crime.

After fully understanding of case only nature of punishment can be decided.