"Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education has always been one of the major concerns in any society. Different governments have tried a variety of criteria throughout the history in order to assess students in different grades. According to this prompt, they should stop experiencing and put the most emphasis on students’ scores. While students may sometimes benefit from the competition for obtaining higher grades, I mostly agree with this statement, for in my perspective, the overall cons of this phenomenon outweigh its pros.

First of all, competition is not always a negative aspect of an education system. Take Harvard University as an example. If the competition in this school was not so high, the courses would have been less demanding, the instructors less exacting, and the students less hard-working. Accordingly, its graduates could not have been as successful as they are with current conditions. This example clearly shows that competition for getting higher grades might cause students to try harder and study more to get the best possible results. Consequently, they will become more erudite in their fields, and more successful in their upcoming careers.

Nevertheless, this kind of competition may result in a considerable amount of stress in students. This might not be a critical problem for college students but will probably cause serious issues in younger ones. Research has shown that the more stress primary schools put on their students, the more long-lasting problems they will experience in the future. Consider a youth who likes to become an artist. If the school is so demanding in other courses such as mathematics or physics, he or she has to spend most of his or her time in order to get high grades in such courses. In addition, they might not be interested or talented in mathematics or physics; thus, they will not be able to achieve high grades in such courses, and they will probably feel rejected and go though even more stress. Such students may even give up studying art at all and choose a different course of action for their future. As a result, schools should provide a calm and enjoyable environment where every student can flourish, and this will not be pragmatic unless they reduce the competition for obtaining higher grades.

Additionally, competition will result in corruption and reducing the level of knowledge among students. This means that if getting good grades in the school is too important, students will be motivated to cheat on some exams in order to get higher marks. Not only that, but also some teachers might try to manipulate the exam results in order to earn money. Even if one ignores this possibility, it is indisputable that most of the students will only try to memorize the test-taking strategies and practice questions to get a good grade by any means. For example, if the only way for students to go to their dream colleges is by getting exceptional results in the high school, It is perfectly plausible to assume the mentioned situations will happen. Furthermore, It is of crucial significance for the students to gain a deep understanding of the basic materials in high school instead of just memorizing some specific problem-solving techniques, for they will not succeed neither in the college nor in any job without profound backgrounds.

In conclusion, education is such a complex regime that it is almost impossible to assert anything about it with absolute certainty. However, despite the usefulness of competition in some occasions, I believe its drawbacks such as causing more stress, possibility of different kinds of corruption, and training less educated students are far more noticeable.