A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

"We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don't get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure."

The argument claims that, if the movie producer does not increase their budget by ten percent, then they quality of the product will be bad and the film shall be a failure. To support this claim, a few evidence has been stated. But the argument has many loops and unstated assumptions, which need to be clarified in order to evalute the argument.

Firstly, the director of the movie is a debutant and he has only directed advertisements for a shampoo company. if this is true then, it is possible that the director does not know the time constraints and efficacy with which they have to perfom the shoots. Then they might spend more time on shooting each scene which will result in cost spent per day of shoot. But it is also possible that, the producer has not researched about the director well. Maybe he has shot a feature film previously, which did not get released due to financial problems. If thats true, then the assumption that he is inexpeirienced is invalid. For example, it is possible that he became a advertisement director to support himself financially, and has a lot passion for film making. If the director is truely talented and shall produce a blockbuster movie even with low budget, then the assumption about his experience and past is flawed.

In addition to that, it is assumed, the director shall not demand a huge salary from the producers, and so the saved money shall be invested in the film and partly given to the actors and crew members. But there is no evidence to confirm this and it makes the argument vague. It is possible, the same director is the screenwriter and dialogue writer as well. Then he shall definitely demand a considerable salary, since he's doing multiple roles. It is also possible that he is offered that he is recieving better offers from other producers and might jump to them if he does not recieve the salary he demands. If such a case occurs, then the logic in the argument is unsound.

Thirdly, the producer assumes that, since the director and the producers are inexpeirienced, so they might work inefficiently. It is possible because, it is assistant directors and the producers who decide the schedule and inform the crew members working under them. If they themselves are inefficient in their working then the crew might also get things done in a delayed manner. But there is no strong evidence to support this, a detailed information about the assistant director's and producer's previous work has to be analysed to confirm their level of work efficiency.

The argument depends on a lot of assumptions, which lack evidence and makes it difficult to evaluate the argument.