’The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.’

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Teamwork is the reason for success in every industry, government, and company. Nobody can achieve something without the help of others, and in order to gain someone's help, cooperation between each other is paramount. In the prompt, the author says, "The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition". I, partially agree with the statement, and not completely because, a healthy competition between people is an improtant driving force for achieving success. But other than that, i agree with most of what the author says.

Firstly, the author stresses that, instilling a sense of cooperation is important. By cooperating with colleagues or team members, we agree to work together with them to achieve a common goal. As stated in the beginning, teamwork is very essential for achieving great feats. For example, if a team of students are preparing for a task given by their teacher, and each of them would like to get their teachers attention, and try to work individually, instead as a team. Then no one shall cooperate with each other and they start working for their own goals. Definitely, the combined effort of number of people is always greater than individual effort, and so success always inclines towards the greatest efforts put. Whereas, a group of students who work together as a team shall definitely succeed. In order to work together, cooperation between each and every one of them is important.

In addition to this, only with cooperation can we be happy to work under a leader. For instance, Many people in the corporate offices hate to work under their boss, because they do not cooperate with their boss. Only when their is cooperation and coordination with everyone in the office, it is possible for them to work efficiently and happily. If the leader of the company, instills a thought that they are in a rat race, then everybody shall work for their own good, and not for a common goal.

In contrast to the above two points, i would like to agree that, some amount of competition is necessary to achieve the highest of our abilities. But the level of competition is confined to being a healthy one. In a healthy competition, people work for one common goal, but at the same time, try to drive each other to their utmost abilities. For example, it is common in many companies to conduct award ceremonies, and award the best performers. That drives people to work more effectively and make their appearance in the podium. Such healthy competition is works in positive way, and does not affect people negatively.

Albeit, the sense of cooperation being the most fundamental things one must learn during his young age, a healthy competition does not affect too.