The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is analysed from the argument that the child-rearing traditions in tertia are misunderstood by Dr. Fields, due to inaccuracy in his observation approach, and that the interview-centered approach took by the students of Dr. Karp provides a better understanding of the child-rearing traditions there. The effectiveness of the argument could be verified by looking into three questions.

Was the sample of children selected for interviewing, representative enough? Were children of different age groups taken into consideration and interviewed? For instance, it is possible that the majority of children interviewed, were shy and introverts, that they do not mingle well with the adults of the village, other than their biological parents. Maybe some of the children were orphans or lost either of their biological parents that they missed them and tended to talk more about them. Children merge with the society more as they grow older and tend to stick with their parents during their early years of life. Maybe such young childrens, who were mature enough to converse with adults were interviewed. If either the above assumptions are true, then the argument is flawed.

Was the interview done during the same time period when Dr. Fields had observed the their traditions? Things change from time to time, so does the feeling of the children. For example, it is possible that when the interview took place, a part of the village migrated to an another place, in search of food and other essentials. Maybe the group included the biological parents of some of the children interviewed. Since they were not in close proximity to their children, they mighty have yearned for their presence, and that just reflected in their answers. If there was such an occurrence, then the argument is considerably flawed.

Were the questions shooted, good enough to learn about the child-rearing tradition in the village? The interview was not done by Dr. Karp himself, but by his graduate students. It is possible that the majority of questions asked were not related to the experiment, and it had contained only few questions of use to the experiment. Maybe the questions were more related to their biological parents and not about the other adults in the village. The argument would be flawed if it does not have a valid answer for the above statements.

The argument had contained many assumptions and some of them were discussed above. If there are more evidences that can counter-attach the assumptions, the effectiveness of the argument could be checked even better. A strong research study is necessary to find further evidence and to check the viability of the argument.