A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Mistakes are made by every person in this world. It is human nature, to make mistakes and eventually learn from them. It is stated in the prompt " A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor". the author says that, since the person is aware that he or she is commiting a crime, they have done it anyways, and they have broken the social contract. Here i shall interpret the social contract as the unspoken code between people, that everybody should support peace and live in harmony. He adds to this statement that, this person should be stripped from his fundamental civil rights and any benefits that might be gained from his or her labor. I strongly diagree with the above statement as it has exempted the fact that this person is also a human, and that every human deserves a second chance.

Building upon this, i would like to say that, it is important to remember all the people around the world are our brothers and sisters, let them be sinned or pure as a saint, that does not matter, everybody deserves a second chance. For instance, in one of the tribes in africa, if a person has done something bad, instead of punishing the person brutally for his bad deeds, the people of the tribe, gather together and show love towards the person. They try to make the understand thta, whatever he may be going through, that they all are with him and ready to forgive him for his sins. Such an act shall cleanse his soul. Stripping the person from his rights does not make him a good person. That is a troubled person we are dealing eith, and every such person needs our help. If are to make a change in his life, and indirectly in our own society, then we must not punish the person, instead help him get back to his life.

In addition to that, it is true that such a person deserves punishment for what he has done, but the punishment does not have to be equivalent to refraining the person from his benefits. Instead, the punishment must help the person to revive back to his normal self. Most crimes result in putting the guilty in jail. The jail has to be treated as a rehabilitation centre. For example, the jail in pondicherry, india, is different from a regular jail. It makes the accused feel like they are in a good place. Punishment is necessary, but what kind of punishment we give them is more important. The punishment should help them, instead of creating more frustration and eventually leading them to do more crimes after they get back to the society.

Thus, it is necessary that we treat the sinned, as our family and help them revive back to normal life