A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

"We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don't get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure."

The prompt represents a memo that was sent by a movie producer to the studio-head demanding more money for his film to be a success. The author has reached the conclusion based on assumptions that they will make a good movie when they get the money and the director being very bad, they will need extra money for their wastages of shots and more time staying on the set. However, the underlying assumptions need to be calrified for this to be a valid judgement.

First of all, the author is bluntly making an assumption that as they are working with a first-time director, he is very likely to be a bad one. For reinforcing his statement, he gave an example of a shampoo commercial where the director worked and he produced quite a waste of money from retaking one shot again and again. Well question remains about the overall shooting scenario. What if the actor/actress that worked on the commercial was bad? If they were bad, then it would not be surprising that they may need extra time to get the shot right. This surely does not fall on the director. Also, there might have been production difficulties for the delay, we do not know. All that can be gathered from the prompt is, the director is responsible for the long time and retakes. But if the underlying assumption falls apart, then the whole argument does, because, the director may actually be a good one who has attented academics of this sort and being jugdged over his first job without thinking about other possible reasons.

Secondly, the author states that as the director could spend as he liked in the advertising, he will do just the same in case of movies. It is not clear if the author is thinking that the director does not know the difference between a movie and an advertisement. For argument's sake, let's say the advertising busniess is wasteful but the movie is not. What if the director is well -aware of the fact and he will do as norm suggests on the movie set. So the author is blindly assuming about the director's approach without even testing him. If this, in fact, holds true, then the author's argument does not hold water.

Third, the author is very rapidly presuming, that if he gets the money, he WILL make a quality movie. Well, what are the odds here? Plenty of things can go wrong. What if, a lot of money was invested, but the acting or the story-line is so bizzare that it cause the public to turn away from the film? Or what if, most of the funding they get from is spent on the actors that they have very scanty amount left for their production? If these were true, then the film will not be a success despite having ton loads of money as budget.

So, in light of these questions,

the argument the author is making, stands mostly faulty. He/she did not provide any circumstantial evidence for their claims and is making a lot of assumptions without even evaluating other considerations. If the author can answer the aforementioned questions and propose a logically sound plan, then this might turn out to be a reasonable judgment.