"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The memo says that the the next-year budget of Super Screen should allocate a good amount in advertising because, based on a survey, people are not getting aware of the movies they are making. The author has reahced the conclusion based on the premise that reviews of specific movies were good but they are not reaching the customers. However, the following questions need to be answered for this claim to be reasonable.

First of all, does finding something mean that it actually happened? The author is saying that the marketing department found lesser people than any year attended movies produced by this company. However, no information is given on how this report was prepared. It is possible that the person who prepared this report may have overlooked some crucial factors. For example, how did he/she make the count? Was it based on ticket sales or was it based on head count? In either case, there is always chance of error because there is counting associated with it. Maybe that person did not account for all the ticket sales or maybe he/she did not count a certain portion of people. Also the "fewer people" is not very clear. Fewer than how many? Was it by two or three people? Because, if it is, then it is not severe at all. So, if either of these scenarios are true, then this argument loses its potential value at the very beginning.

Scondly, do specific positive reviews ensure the overall quality of all the movies produced by this company? The author is presuming that just because there are some positive reviews, all movies are actually good. What are the credentials of these reviewers? Is posting a superficial analysis by any movie-watcher would be equivalent to an expert opinion? The author does not provide any information on that. So, there is no way to tell who gave these reviews. But if this is true that the reviewers are not professionals, then the assertion retains little value.

Finally, does not attending the movies mean that the reviews are not reaching people? The author is very keen to presume that these reviews, whatever they are, are not reaching people. It is possible that may be the people are seeing them, but they are not liking the movies based on the teasers. Maybe the storyline is failing to attract them in some way. So, reviews do not always ensure that people will be interested to watch something unless it attempts to give them what they want in the teaser. So, if this holds merit, then the problem is not in the advertising.

In conclusion, based on the reasoning that the author gave, this argument is faulty. The author presented lots of unwarranted asssumptions with no relevant data to adduce them. So, if the author is able to answer these questions, maybe then this memo might carry some actual reasoning.