When people succeed, it is because of hard work. Luck has nothing to do with success.

Some people say that success depends solely on hard work where there is no place for luck. Hard work pays off big time to ensure success. However, I strongly disagree with the statement and believe that even when there is no lacking from a person’s side, things still can go wrong. In the next two paragraphs it has been discussed why.

First of all, luck plays a certain part in a person’s success because, as there are lots of uncertainty associated with our lives, we cannot fully ensure success based on hard work alone. For example, let’s say that a very meritorious student studied really hard and gave tremendous effort for a test, but on the test day, he had a nervous breakdown for some reason and could not do well in the exam. This does not prove that the boy did not work hard, but due to sheer bad luck he failed. If luck favored him that day, he might have emerged out of the situation victorious. So, this is important to have luck on someone’s side after having given real good efforts.

Second of all, luck is important in the sense that there are lots of external contributing factors to a person’s success. For example, in the case of getting corporate jobs in the Indian sub-continent, sometimes luck outruns a hard work of a person. There might be cases where there are some candidates up for a position but just because one or two of them have internal link-ups with the authority (maybe they have relatives in top position), they are chosen for the position despite having a very qualified person in line. It is not the latter’s fault that he got rejected, he had every bit of qualification, maybe even more. It is the dumb luck that got him out of the competition. So, as long as other competing factors are in play, luck will still continue to have some effect on the outcome.

To sum up, it is really a tough job to determine how much hard work or luck attribute towards a person’s success. Hard work can be a very crucial contributing factor. Nonetheless, we cannot simply deny the role of luck because only hard work cannot define success and as long as uncertainties surround our lives, having a good luck on our side can ensure our desired success.