The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

The prompt presents an article by Dr. Karp that states that the author has innovated a new method of anthromometric studies in an island called Tertia and how the author is claiming that his method invalidates the work of another anthropologist, Dr. Field. The author has based his conclusion on the assumptions that his findings differ from that of Dr. Field. However, there are some unstated assumptions in this argument that need to be clarfied for the argument to be valid.

First of all, Dr. Karp is assuming that there is no difference in a 20-year early period and the present-day world. The author does not take into account the effect of this time difference. A lot of changes could have occurred at that time. It is possible that, at that time, the children did used to get reared up by the whole village. This scenario may have evolved over time. the situations may not be roughly comparable. So, to bluntly reject someone's conclusion without taking a crucial element like time into account is just unwise. So, if the time-factor has played a role into this transformation, then the author's invalidation about Dr. Field's studies might be invalid.

Secondly, the author is assuming that based on his interviews with the children, he has enough data to proceed. Dr. Karp did not present statistics on how many children he has interviewed. It is probable that he might have worked with 1% or 5% of the whole population. So, can we base a conclusion on this insignificant amount of data? If this holds truth that Dr. Karp only talked with a minor portion of the children, then the claims fall thin.

Lastly, the author is very rapid to presume that he has invented an anthropometric procedure of higher accuracy. What are the evidence to that? If a new method is being tasted for its performance, lots of criteria need to be examined. If the inventor himself is claiming the method to be a better one without presenting proper evidence for the claim, then there is no base to justify that. It could be possible that Dr. Karp's method was, in fact, less accurate. So, if this case holds merit, then the author's claims are in much doubt.

In conclusion, the reasonings and conclusion made by the author stands faulty to this point. There have been lots of unwarranted assumptions and scarcity of evidence to back up the claims. More logically sound reasoning along with statistics is required for this to be a valid claim.