When people succeed, it is because of hard work. Luck has nothing to do with success.

Do you agree or disagree with the quotation above?

Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

I completely agree with the given quotation. Success is a matter of hard work and perseverance, even if some people try to envy others by attributing it to luck, but fail to see the hard work that any person puts in in order to succeed.

Often times, we see people associate luck with one of the top reason when asked about why did they fail at a particular job. If luck has so much to do with a person's success, why not just wait for it your entire lifetime instead of working? For example, we can consider a student who topped his examinations versus the one who failed. Topper student, continuously worked hard towards his goals instead of just wishing for the exam papers to be easy or any kind of cheating being done while exams. While on the other hand side, the one who failed, just was dependent on luck to get easy paper and find ways to cheat during examinations. Hence, attributing luck to anyone's success might be completely absurd, failing to see the hard work that is put in behind it.

Sometimes, smart work is required, but that doesn't mean that you must entirely be dependent on luck instead of working smartly. There's no substitute for hard work. Although, some people try to work hard and rather, fail even after putting in so much efforts. The reason behind this might be completely different, instead of just being the luck factor. For example, at first, Steve Jobs, the inventor of Apple, failed a lot more time during the launch of first Machintosh PC. Even after failing, he continuously tried to work towards his goals relentlessely, which eventually led to his success. Today, Apple is one of the biggest companies who provides consumer electronics. All this fame can be only attributed to the hard work put in by Steve Jobs, even after failing at first. Hence, failing is a part of human life and should be taken up positively instead of just associating luck with failure.

Therefore, as it is right said 'Practice make a man perfect', for anyone to succeed, one must put in his entire efforts towards his goals. Just being dependent on luck without any hard work might not always try to be beneficial and would only lead to failure.