The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Teaching plays a great role in shaping an individual's whole outlook. The way in which is the teaching is being imparted is also a crucial factor. The teacher, who is responsible for this task can handle this in different ways, but the baseline is almost same for everyone. The prompts speaks that praising people for positive actions and ignoring their negative moves is the best way to teach. I, however, strongly disagree with this statement. In the following two paragraphs, it has been explained why.

First of all, in addition to praising the positive motions by students, their negative actions also need to be addressed in the appropriate manner because people can learn a great deal from their mistakes. If a person takes a lesson from a past event that he did mistakenly, that learning sticks to his memory for a longer period of time. Of course, no human is perfect and we learn through a trial and error process. Without the criticisms about the negative actions, it is harder for a person to grow as a real human being. For example, let us assume that a student always copies in his exams. This is obviously not a noble action. But by copying, he gets good marks in every exam. In this case, if the teacher praises him for getting good marks and completely ignores the fact that the student got a good mark by copying, then this is going to create a false sense of appreciation for the student. Because his teacher failed to do the right thing, the student would not learn from a grave mistake. If the opposite would have happened and the teacher talked to him about this issue, make him understand why this is wrong, then may be the student would know that what he did was not very ethical. This would perhaps prevent him from doing such a thing in future. So, this example illustrates that criticism in teaching is also important, not just applauding for fake success.

Secondly, if the negative actions are constantly undermined or overlooked, this may leave an expression that perhaps doing such things is may be okay regardless of the magnitude. This will ultimately create a completely wrong sense of what should and should not be done, which can break the whole moral system. For example, in the case of the student in the previous paragraph, if the teacher constantly ignored him, even though knowingly, it would make the student think that he is doing nothing wrong. He may do it constantly for all his life. Because of bad teaching practice, a student would conduct an unethical thing his whole life. Another example can be taken that if someone has a habit of shoplifting and the people around the person know about this and yet they let it slide, then the person would not think that he/she is doing anything wrong. And this not-stopping from doing such things can lead to a life-long affiliation to that negative motion. So, this proves that if the negative actions are not addressed accordingly, it may leave a permanent mark.

In conclusion, the issue of teaching morality is very sensitive. It is about shaping a mind and failure to do so can lead to a disaster. Praising good actions is necessary, sure, but criticizing negative ones are also equally important as well. A good balance between these two factors may help produce a good result.