A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The prompt suggests that the author of this passage is convinced that regular dental care is ineffective in preventive the decaying of tooth. He based his conclusion on the premise of comparing scenarios from two distinct regions of earth. However, there could be some alternative explanations for this claim.

First of all, the author is assuming that the Himalayan mountain regions of Nepal and the suburban areas of The United States are roughly comparable. These two places are very different in their geographical aspect and almost situated at different ends of the planet. When comparing people from two such places on some particular phenomenon like tooth decay, some factors need to be taken into consideration such as the food habits of the place i.e. food types, eating cycle, major ingredient in the diet etc. For example, people in Nepal might leave very healthy life where they take organic food rich in natural fibers, whereas people in the United States might take a sugar-rich diet. Sugar is a bad ingredient for the health especially the teeth. If the people of the states frequently feast on chocolates and candies and the Nepalis do not, the first group is more likely to fall prone to tooth problem. So, If this holds truth, then despite going to the dentist, the people from the United States can have detrimental effect on their teeth.

Secondly, the prompt only talks about the children. The author assumed that just because the children of this two places behave this way, so would the adults. Well, what if adults and children function differently in their bodily mechanism? What the adults can take, children can not. Maybe the adults in the state are very health conscious about their teeth and the adults from Nepal frequently have beetle-nut, smoking and this sort of addiction. For this case, the tooth decay among adults in the Nepali region would be greater. So judging two different areas only based on their children's data does not seem to hold water when we are talking about the overall country.

Thirdly, the author assumes that going to the dentist necessarily means that someone will have good teeth. Well, what if a person went to the dentist and got his gums cleaned and after that he did not take a very good care of his teeth? Maybe he did not brush or floss properly. So, in this case, would going to the doctor ensure the prevention of this tooth decay? Maybe the people in Nepal take good care of their teeth and use natural and organic products, whereas in America people think that going to the dentist is everything for them and they do not have to do anything afterwards. If this scenario holds merit then the argument here falls apart.

In conclusion, the author's reasoning stands faulty based on the evidence he presented. There are lots of unwarranted assumptions and the logical coherence among the ideas is thinning. So, the author needs to explore these alternate explanations and prove more substantial evidence for his claim.