Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

A country has many aspects. It has a cultural side as well as a political side. The government of a country has to allocate its budget to various sectors. When allocating, priority is a concern here. Not every sector gets the same allowance because there are levels in the prioritization. The prompt suggests that arts sector should receive as much investment as the military sector. Well, this is not a plausible expectation at all. And here is why.

To begin, the military system of a country defines the schemes or plans that it takes to keep the people of the country safe either from any domestic unrest to any international attack. The military is a very important and crucial part of a country. The stronger the military, the better the protection the people of that country gets. Now, if someone wants to make a robust military squad, they need to invest in this sector. They would have to buy high-tech training gears, train the officers, build facilities equipped with everything they need. So, this would require a great deal of money. On the other hand, arts is a pure form of mental development. It can influence peoples' minds, but when it comes to saving the country-people from any danger befalling on them, arts does not prove to be an effective equipment. So, first it has to be ensured that the people are safe, only then they can pursue their love of art. So, it proves that military sector is more likely to be prioritized before arts.

Further, let's talk about what happens when a natural disaster or calamity occurs. Whenever such things happen, we find the military working day and night to get the situation under control. For example, if an earthquake or tsunami or flood takes place, we see uniformed officials at the site providing relief and accommodation to the people in need. They serve the people beyond imagination and that is what they are taught to do. In such situation, arts does not provide us much value. So, critical conditions like this well define the distinction between military and arts.

However, one can argue about the cultural aspects of one's country. They might say that, a country can have its distinct identification based on its arts form. True, but when can people give their attention to arts? When they have minimal fear of getting attacked and are not afraid of how the next morning is going to turn out for them. For example, people in the war-clad countries like Syria or Yemen are fighting for their lives. Their main objective there is to survive first. They do not have the luxury to think about this sort of stuff. So, this illustrates that the safety is the first thing anyone wants and certainly a good military squad can help in achieving it.

In conclusion, the distinction between the hierarchy of military and arts is very visible. We need arts to preserve our culture sure, but in no way it can surpass the military, either in importance or in investment.