A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The statement presents a cogent position about teaching the students a uniform syllabus upto a certain point in their educational life. Educational curriculum is one of those topics that can be argued over in depth. From a country's perspective, this is undoubtedly a very delicate topic. Determining the specifications of the curriculum is a very daunting task. Beacause, usually there are many qualified personnel on the board, but sadly, they have different views. But this statement certainly poses a very thought provoking conundrum.

To speak about the merit, there are different types of area of specialization, yes, where some may go for engineering, some may go for social studies, some for economics etc. But if things can be seen from a slightltly meticulus perspective, it is evident that, whatever may the research field be, the general knowledge base is the same. If an example of this country can be provided, upto 8th grade, the students here are taught the same subjects. These include a sound knowledge of mathematics, English, Bangla, general science, social science and religious and moral studies. The students my go in different directions after that, sure, but at least they get to see how the subjects can vary from one to another. So, if they go for a particular area, they might know just beforehand that they will be entitled to do what kinds of things.

However, it is also true that upto 8th grade is a long time, let alone college. It can be argued that they are merely wasting the time that could have been put to better use a long time ago. So, why should the students spend their valuable time on something that they are not going to go through?

Well, there are some other governing factors here. First of all, the availability of seats in a particular department that the students want to get admitted. It is very common that the seatings are limited. So a competitiveness arises and whoever cannot keep up with the competition, fells out of the scenario. So they may go for something else. Secondly, sometimes the family pressures to students to pursue some other subjects.

In light of these reasons, there might be chances why the irregularity occurs.

Then again, in defending the statement, there should be a certain age to get started with anything. The government can emphasize on getting the students ready for specilized studies at an early age, however question remains on how much they can actually take or if their brains are fully capable of managing such tasks.

There should be a clear indication of how much should a student do at what stage of their educational journey. And certainly, the idea here seems very plausible because just burdening them may not get things done appropriately, where an easy going approach might just do the trick.