An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The prompt presents that the author of the passage has urged the government of Tagus to promote the cultivation of a crop (Millet) of modified variety. The author has reached the conclusion assuming that being a staple in Tagus, people will face no problem familiarizing with the crop and as this crop is costlier and farmers are getting paid for it, they will likely to produce them. However, the following questions need to be answered for this to be a valid conclusion.

First of all, the author is assuming that the vitamin A deficiency is a critical problem in Tagus. There is no information about what percentage of people of Tagus are facing this problem. All that can be gathered from the prompt is that there are people who is suffering from this problem. For instance, the people that are currently deficient of vitamin-A could constitute 1% or 5 % or even 50%. So, if the case is such that the people are very low in number, then to spend the national resources on this matter will not be wise.

Secondly, can the result about the efficacy of the new breed of millet that is "rich in vitamin-A" be readily trusted? This is a new invention and the power of the new breed is yet to be tested. Without checking up on that, would it be wise to invest the resources in its production? Perhaps, it is not as effective as it was thought to be. Then this would result in spending additional money that is simply wasted. So, the statement cannot hold water if the new breed is ultimately ineffective.

Then, the author is assuming that, as people are already eating this crop as it is a staple food there, there should be no problem when a new breed is introduced. This is true that they will not strongly oppose it but what is the guarantee here that they will replace the previous Millet for the new ones? What if previous one tested better? Again, the efficacy still needs to be proven, so why would people choose a bitter tasting one over a good tasting crop? If this is true, then there is less likely chance for new Millet to be a success.

Lastly, the author very rapidly presumes that just because the farmers are getting paid for cultivating the new crop, they would do so. What are the chances that they will not use the money for some other purpose? There is low chance of government officials checking up on them. So, here the government is paying them a good amount of money, but they might be using it for some other purpose. For the government, it is just money down the drain. So, if this scenario holds merit, then the government would just be wasting its precious resources.

In light of the question, the argument that the author is trying to make, however stands faulty. If the questions above can be answered with appropriate research, then this may be a valid judgement.