Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they

like to do—rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people say that people rarely have time to focus on anything else these days because they are very busy with their life. From their viewpoint, in today’s world, with the pressure from jobs, to support families or to do the right things people less time to get off-tracked. However, I strongly agree with the statement and believe that people spend much time on doing other things and not the things that they should be doing. I support my position with the following reasons.

First, with the advent and availability of modern communication technology such as computers, tablets or smartphones, people are found spending more time on those devices. They might be watching some movie or TV series or could be surfing through social media. For example, when I was in my last semester, I had a lot of unfinished thesis work and needed to be done with it as soon as possible. But then I got hooked to a TV series called “Person of Interest”. I forgot my thesis and started binge-watching the series. It took a toll because I had to suffer from pressing time issues and went through a lot of stress to complete the job. If these technologies, people would not have the chance to get distracted like this. In that case, they would have performed their tasks timely. So, this just illustrates that these technologies give us opportunities to get deviated from what we should do.

Second, too much stress due to any reason can make the mind look for easy escape. In present world, almost everything causes stress whether it is someone’s job or overwhelming pressure from colleges or even family crisis. People think that they need to escape the real world for a bit and indulge in some make-belief fantasy. This might sometimes turn into an addiction. For instance, one of my friends has a highly stressful job and he is always getting scolded by his boss. To him, he needs the entertainment just to keep his mind calm so that he does not let the work stuff bother his performance. But once he starts, he cannot stop easily. If no one had stress in their life, they would not need this kind of escapes. In that scenario, the chances of getting addicted would also be gone and people could not concentrate on their lives and they would do what only needs to be done. So, it seems that people might need the enjoyment to mitigate their stresses but end up doing it more than often.

To sum up, the issue is complex in the sense that both sides of the argument can make compelling cases. However, it is more likely to be true that people spend more time enjoying themselves rather than their necessaries. The available technologies and the other factors that lead people to feel pressurized have much contribution to this phenomenon.