Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

The government of a country has to deal with tons of issues from smaller to larger scale. In the process of running the system smoothly, the government faces constant challenges. In fact, the problems are never-ending and so are the attempts to solve them. The prompt recommends that government should solely focus on the immediate problems at hand and not something that might happen in the future. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this statement and argue that the anticipated problems should not be treated lightly for two reasons.

First of all, many people would argue that the imminent problem should get much attention than the potential ones because the first group has a short response period. This might be true, until we can think of an alternate explanation that, the problems at hand might be the cause of not paying enough attention to them while they were still potential. For example, the cyclone-prone areas in Bangladesh could be taken as an example. As a low-lying, seaside country, Bangladesh faces with many natural calamities, among which the cyclone is a prominent one. The damage due to this disaster is enormous. Even though there is weather updates and modern technologies to predict these events, the warnings are not taken very seriously. As a result, it causes greater and greater loss every year. This proves that, not taking the “anticipated” dangers very seriously, a lot of damage can occur, which includes social and economic loss.

Further, the future is not to be taken lightly, because with the passage of time, we will eventually get there. So, to think that the problems that might occur at a later point is not worth-the-attention at the present time is foolhardy because it might ultimately occur and there would be no measures to cut the impacts of those events. For instance, the issue of global warming or the climate change is very talked now-a-days. Although it is a gradual process, the symptoms started about 20 years back. In this interim, this issue has not been dealt with proper importance. Even today, the "guardian" countries of the world are paying minimal heed to this problem. As a result, today, the consequences are in front of our eyes. From polar ice caps melting to an overall increase in the Earth's average temperature, all these are the products of not taking precautions while there was still time. If some of the problems are deadly when occurred, th situation may turn out to be exceptionally So, this example illustrates that the anticipated problems actually give enough time to do something about it and not taking the chance would be unwise.

In conclusion, it is without a doubt that choosing priorities for a government in case of problem-solving is a complex and thought-provoking issue. But, nonetheless, the bigger weight falls upon the future problems. The impending problems should be taken with extra care so that it does turn into a mountain from what was once thought be a molehill.