"The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Human civilization has come ahead a long distance in the field of self-knowledge. Take for example the prehistoric times where humans used to depend completely on nature for their existence. During those times, humans used to learn by observing and drawing conclusions. Slowly humans started clasifying knowledge as one they already know and one they need to know. This classification helped them save time and resources over knowing something which has already been discovered earlier by other humans.

For the same reason primariliy, I do not agree completely with the author's statement of rejecting the familiar to gain self knowledge. There are numerous examples of situations where adopting the author's recommendation would be disadvantageous. Consider for example an employee working in a factory to assemble an automobile. If the employee tries to do all the steps of assembling the automobile without utilizing any familiar knowledge, then imagine the loss incurred on part of the employer due to time lost in individual steps of assembling the automobile. This may be somewhat beneficial on part of the employee in knowing the nuances of component processes, but will greatly undermine his capability as an employee.

Another example of a disadvantageous situation is a scientist trying to invent something new or propose a new theory. If the scientist gos on trying to boost his self-knowledge by rejecting the familiar, then the scientist will end up nowhere as the theories have already been proved by utlizing abundant resources and precious time. On the other hand, take for example Galileo's proof of Copernicus' theory of earth revolving around the sun, done primarily by rejecting the familiar and disproving the same. These situations are however rare and cannot be considered as sufficient to postulate the author's recommendation.

On the flipside, a student must learn how to reject the familiar and build up on his or her self-knowledge. This is highly required by succeeding in the student's further endeavors as it builds up steadily the potential and acumen of the student.

Thus, in general, the author's statement cannot be completely relied upon to build up self-knowledge. But on rare occasions like the ones described above, rejecting the fa