The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Movie rental business has long been associated with various manipulations of market statistics to further its profit making motive. With increase in the number of movies released every year due to technological advancement, the consumers are eagerly looking for cheaper options of movie watching.

The success of a movie is hugely determined by its reciprocation by the masses who love to watch movies with their optimum standard of living. Here the movie rental business has seen huge increase in popularity by providing widely acclaimed movies at cheaper prices than having to go and watch in store. Notwithstanding, the people who rent movies need to have the appropriate device to watch the movie at their leisure.

By stating the example of its store at downtown Marston, the author now claims that to offset the recent decline in profits of Movies Galore, its stores must reduce its operating expenses. The question here is: to offset the decline in profits, can this success in reducing the operation expenses be used on other stores as well? Clearly the answer is no, until the author verifies numerous assumptions not stated in the author's statement.

Firstly, there has been no mention of which all stores have seen a decline in profits. Reducing the operating expenses of a member store which has not seen any decline in profits would greatly harm the overall profit of Movies Galore. Hence, the author needs to specifically mention which all stores needs to reduce their operating expenses.

Secondly, it is highly likely that store at downtown Marton was not situated in a place where there are frequent movie-watchers. Or the case might be that downtown Marton is in an upscale locality where people don't rent out movies often. Hence reducing its operating hours saw a significant decline in its operating expenses which was able to offset some of the decline in profits.

Finally, the author mentions that eliminating all movies older than 5 years also yielded desirable results. The author did not mention as to what was the population distribution at that participating store where this study was conducted. Since older people tend to rent out older movies often than younger population. For example, the store at downtown Marton might be located near a university area where the student population is maximum and they tend to watch recent movies more often than older movies.

Hence the author has to explicitly verify the above assumptions before any decision is being made to reduce the operating expenses in remaining stores of Movies Galore.