The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

The security of any country is hugely determined by how safe and secure its borders are with respect to illegal immigrants entering a country. The author argues that illegal immigrants must be returned to their country of origin to strengthen a country's autonomy.

One of the primary assumptions here is that every illegal immigrant will endanger the country's economy and national security. This assumption is not corroborated with any evidence of how immigrants have in the past endangered the nation's security. For example, the author should provide specific cases of security breaches which have been perpetrated by illegal immigrants and not their own residents.

Another assumption is that illegal immigrants from all countries pose a security threat to a nation. This assumption is not supported by any evidence of illegal immigrants of which all nations have been found to have caused a security threat in the past. Clearly, all nations cannot be imposed with the same stringent norms if no evidences are found against them. The author needs to provide a specific list of countries whose originating illegal immigrants should not be allowed to enter another country.

In the past, war-like situations have forced many civilians to flee their homelands and search for peaceful lands to dwell. These situations must be mentioned by the author before attempting to return illegal immigrants to their country of origin. Such measures will help curtail the unwanted loss of civilian lives in such politically disturbed areas. These rescued civilians cannot be considered a threat to nation's security unless proved otherwise.

In conclusion, the author has mentioned a statement which has not been supported by any evidences of crimes perpetrated by illegal immigrants alone. Any political step against illegal immigrants requires the intervention of human rights groups, united nations groups and various other security agencies before an attempt is made to return them to their country of origin.