We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure

Movie funding is composed of a lot of components which includes advertising and paying the cast for their time on the sets. The success of a movie is hugely determined by its advertising costs. The greater the extent of advertisement, the more the viewers of the movie. Although the overall performance of a movie is determined by other factors as well, still advertising plays a crucial role in the initial stages of its release.

The author argues that we need to reduce the funding for the movie in order to ensure a quality product. This claim is based on a number of assumptions which have not been elucidated by the author. These assumptions should be conspicuous enough to support the claim to increase the funding of the movie.

Firstly, the author assumes that a first-time director will be incompetent enough for the shoot to take more time. The author does not explore if this director has got any other educational qualifications to prove his or her merit in movie making as well. Many times it has been seen that a newcomer director has become more successful than an experienced one.

Secondly, the author assumes that by hiring inexperienced assistant producers and directors, money will be saved. This assumption has not be proven by any evidences. Unless this assumption is proven by evidence, it cannot be translated into greater expenditures in paying actors and unionized crew for the extra hours they spend on the sets. The author has to provide time logs for extra time spent waiting for arranging the sets before vouching for the increase in funding.

In conclusion, the author needs to provide numerical data to back up his claims on increasing the funding for the movie by 10%. Moreover, the author has to specifically mention why the funding needs to increase by 10% by providing vital statistics of movie funding.